Log in
registered charity no. 1108756
The Object of the Association is to advance education in independent schools and, in furtherance of that object, but not otherwise, the Association shall have power:
(a) to discuss matters concerning the policy and administration of such schools and to encourage cooperation between their Governing Bodies;
(b) to consider the relationship of such schools to the general educational interests of the community;
(c) to consider and give guidance on matters of general or individual concern to the Governing Bodies of such schools;
(d) to promote good governance in such schools;
(e) to express the views of the Governing Bodies of such schools on any of the foregoing matters and to take such action as may be appropriate in their interests.
There are two categories of membership: full membership and associate membership. Schools in England and Wales applying for either category will have heads in full membership of one of the five Independent Schools Council (ISC) Heads’ Associations or expecting to be so within one year. If the school is not a charitable trust, it must have either a governing body or an advisory or management committee which fulfils a similar function and is constituted in such a fashion as to provide a significant degree of oversight.
Full Membership
To be accepted as full members, schools will need to demonstrate that the composition of the Governing Body and governance procedures meet the principles of good governance practice set out in the AGBIS publication ‘Guidelines for Governors’. All schools must be able to demonstrate that they are financially viable and must also be able to provide a satisfactory current inspection report issued by a recognised inspectorate.
Associate Membership
Schools which do not meet all of the criteria above for full membership may be offered associate membership at the discretion of the AGBIS Board. The offer of associate membership can be temporary and may require a school to rectify a perceived shortcoming or weakness. Once this condition has been met, the school may apply to be considered for full membership.
Chairman: Lorna Cocking (Kent College Canterbury)
Deputy Chairman: Margaret Rudland (British School of Paris, Headington, St Margaret's School Bushey, St Swithun‘s, The English College Prague)
Deputy Chairman: David Taylor (Queen Anne‘s School Caversham, St Lawrence College)
Honorary Treasurer: Mark Taylor (Folkestone Academy)
Yvonne Burne (Haberdashers’ Schools Elstree, St Dunstan's College)
Tanya Castell (Fettes College)
Paul Dillon-Robinson (Hurstpierpoint College)
Pamela Edmonds (St Michael's Prep School)
David Jennings (Summer Fields School)
Deborah Knight (Haberdashers’ Aske's Boys' School)
Katie Lancaster (Kimbolton School)
David Levin (Canford School)
Alison Martin (Battle Abbey)
Sarah Phillips (King Alfred School)
Nigel Richardson (Haileybury, Magdalen College School)
Paul Voller (Box Hill School)
Chief Executive: Richard Harman
Director of Training: Andy Robinson
Association of Governing Bodies of Independent Schools
The Grange, 3 Codicote Road, Welwyn, Hertfordshire AL6 9LY
Tel: 01438 840730 • email: