Log in
The Society of Heads
Description: The Society of Heads
The Society of Heads
The Society is an Association of Heads of just under 130 well-established independent schools. It was founded in 1961 when a group of Heads decided they needed a forum in which to share ideas and experience. Since then the Society has grown substantially in size, reputation and effectiveness and represents a vibrant community of independent schools throughout England and Wales with some additional overseas members.
The Society’s policy is to maintain high standards in member schools, to promote independent education, to provide an opportunity for the sharing of ideas and common concerns, to foster links with the wider sphere of higher education and to strengthen relations with the maintained sector by promoting partnerships.
Within the membership there is a wide variety of educational experience. Some schools are young, some have evolved from older foundations, some have behind them a long tradition of pioneer and specialist education; a number are at the leading edge of education in music, dance and the arts; and several are well known for their effective support for those with specific learning difficulties. The great majority are co-educational but we also have some all-boys and all-girls schools. Many have a strong boarding element; others are day only. All offer a stimulating sixth-form experience and give a sound and balanced education to pupils of widely varying abilities and interests.
The Society is one of the constituent Associations of the Independent Schools Council. Every Full Member school has been accredited through inspection by the Independent Schools Inspectorate (or Estyn in Wales and HMIE in Scotland) and is subject to regular visits to monitor standards and ensure that good practice and sound academic results are maintained. The Society is also represented on many other educational bodies.
All members are in membership of the Association of School and College Leaders (ASCL) or other union for school leaders and Full Member schools belong to AGBIS or an equivalent professional body supporting governance.
There are also categories of Alliance and Alliance Overseas Membership to which Heads are elected whose schools do not fulfil all the criteria for Full Membership but whose personal contribution to the Society is judged to be invaluable.
The Society hosts the autumn meeting, summer meeting and the annual conference for members. The Society also provides an extensive professional development programme.
Officers 2021–2022
Chair: Sarah Raffray, St Augustine’s Priory
Vice-Chair: Adrian Meadows, The Peterborough School
Chair Designate: Sue Hannam, Lichfield Cathedral School
Hon Treasurer: Christine Cunniffe, LVS Ascot
Committee 2021–2022
Sarah Raffray, St Augustine’s Priory
Adrian Meadows, The Peterborough School
Sue Hannam, Lichfield Cathedral School
Christine Cunniffe, LVS Ascot
Guy Ayling, Mount Kelly
Gareth Doodes, The King’s School
Damian Ettinger, Cokethorpe School
David Gajadharsingh, The Royal Ballet School
Emma-Kate Henry, St Christopher School
David Holland, Hill House School
Rob Jones, Rendcomb College
Julian Noad, Queen’s College, Taunton
Richard Notman, Stover School
David Tickner, Newcastle School for Boys
Jessica Ward, Elmhurst Ballet School
The Society of Heads CEO: Clive Rickart
The Society of Heads
12 The Point, Rockingham Road, Market Harborough, Leicestershire LE16 7QU
Tel: 01858 433760 • email: