Log in
Description: ISA
The Independent Schools Association is a registered charity with a service-led approach to supporting its Members and the wider educational community. The Association’s dedication to its Members, including the delivery of instant 24/7 expert advice, has resulted in significant growth over the last ten years and ISA is now regarded as the most representative of any organisation within the sector. Its growth is simply unprecedented within the sector.
Membership is open to independent school Heads and Proprietors provided they meet the necessary criteria, which include accreditation by any government-approved inspectorate. ISA makes no requirements upon Members for other memberships or affiliations, or for schools to operate in any specific way, beyond the requirements of the appropriate regulations. A strong regional network of fellow Heads supports each Member, and all Members receive a free high-level compliance check in the run-up to their next scheduled inspection, as well as an annual pastoral visit from a dedicated regional representative. An extensive programme of training events and conferences helps Members and their staff to keep up-to-date with the latest thinking on teaching and learning.
ISA celebrates a wide-ranging membership, not confined to any one type of school, but including all: nursery, pre-preparatory, junior, preparatory and senior, all-through schools, specialist sixth-forms, co-educational, single-sex, boarding, day, faith schools and performing arts and special schools.
Promoting best practice and fellowship for Members remains at the core of the Association, just as it did when it began over 140 years ago. The 560 Members and their schools enjoy high quality national conferences and courses that foster excellence in independent education. The Association’s Annual ISA Awards ceremony celebrates the best of good practice across Members’ schools. The ISA central office also supports Members and provides expert advice in areas such as HR, curriculum, finance, leadership and governance, and represents the views of its membership at national and governmental levels. Pupils in ISA schools enjoy a wide variety of competitions, including a wealth of sporting, artistic and academic activities at Area and National level, often at world-class venues.
Council and Officers 2021–2022
President: Lord Lexden OBE
Angela Culley
Barry Huggett OBE
Sarah Lockyer
Neil Roskilly
Richard Walden
Honorary Officers:
John Southworth (Chair)
Jeff Shaw (Vice-Chair)
Phil Soutar (Vice-Chair)
Elective Councillors:
Matthew Burke
Stephen McKernan
Elizabeth Brown
Dominic Price
Helen Chalmers
Claudette Salmon
Lawrence Collins
Craig Wardle
Natasha Dangerfield
James Wilding
Penny Ford
Tracey Wilson
Sue Knox
Area Coordinators:
East Anglia: Pauline Wilson
Midlands: David Preston
London North: Dan Sayers
North: Jeremy Duke
London South: Phil Soutar
South West: Dionne Seagrove
London West: Jonathan Hetherington
Chief Executive Officer: Rudolf Eliott Lockhart
Deputy Chief Executive Officer: Peter Woodroffe
Director of Education and Inclusion: Helen Stanton-Tonner
Professional Development Officer: Alice Thompson
Office Manager and PA to the CEO: Karen Goddard
Independent Schools Association
ISA House, 5–7 Great Chesterford Court, Great Chesterford, Essex CB10 1PF
Tel: 01799 523619 • email: